On My Niche Markets part 2

Yesterday I talked about Mums, and why working with Mums is important to me. Today I want to talk about my second niche market, which is current and soon-to-be undergraduates. I believe that every young person deserves to know and love themself, so that they can focus their energies on making a brilliant future, and I want to help.

Let me introduce you to my lovely offspring, Franki and Joe. Here they are, in all their glory:

Over the last few years they and their lovely friends have worked their socks off through SATs, GCSEs and A Levels to get to where they want to be. They’ve been under constant pressure to do their best and aim for the top and they’ve come through it with extreme grace (aided, from what I can see, by copious amounts of ice-cream and almond fingers).

While I was very happy with the schools my two attended, my observation of the school system is that it is designed in such a way as to make kids believe that their life will be over if they don’t get good grades and go to University – it’s as if University is the light at the end of the tunnel and once you get there all will be sweetness and light and plain sailing.

That leaves a lot of young people feeling pressured into going to Uni when it might not be the right thing for them to do, and another lot who get there and are then in for an awful shock.

I remember being 18 and the two things I wanted above all else were to leave home and be treated like an adult. Going to University grants those two wishes in one fell swoop, but people underestimate how much of a shock to the system that can be. Suddenly all of your home comforts and support systems have gone and people really are treating you like a responsible adult, which can come as a massive shock to the system.

So I’ve created my Colour In Your Future programme, which aims to help people prepare for and/or settle into life at University. It covers topics such as “Why Is Everyone Else So Weird?”, alongside getting to know and love yourself and working out what kind of a future you really want and setting goals to help you to get there.

Colour In Your Future consists of a choice of online coaching packages, seminars and workshops, or a workbook for you to work through at your own pace. These will all be available online soon, and you can join the Colour In Your Future Facebook group if you want to keep up to date with events.

Leave a Reply

