I LOVE MY BELLY!!!

You may have read my recent guest post on Tim Brownson’s site, A Daring Adventure.ย  It got a great reaction from everyone except the person who accused me of Hate Crimes against Witches. Clearly s/he doesn’t know about my ambition to live up a tall tower with my first-born grandchild (whom I shall name Astrolabe), and throw bat-shaped jellies on passersby…

Anyway, if you haven’t read it you can do so now if you like, or just go back and read my earlier post here called I Felt the Fear….If you read both, you might just spot some points of similarity. Ahem.

Well, so, having pledged to love my body and stop comparing myself to the underfed waifs we see all over the media, I naturally carried on doing what I’ve always done – which was feeling perfectly happy until I happened to catch sight of myself in a mirror, and then getting a nasty shock.

And then, a few days after the Warty Old Witch post was published, I was reading a book called Flip it: How to Get the Best Out of Everything when I had a Eureka moment in the bath (well where else would you have a Eureka moment, eh?)

Now normally I get my best ideas in the shower, but I find it really difficult to read in the shower cos I have to take my glasses off, so that’s why I was having a really good idea in the bath.

And now you’re desperately trying to stop thinking about me in the bath, aren’t you? And it’s not working, is it? See what I did there? Hehehe….

So this book advocates completely reversing your ideas about things as a way of getting rid of the thoughts and ideas that block you. And I thought – what if I did that about the bits of my body that I don’t like?

What if I flipped my thinking so that I made a conscious effort to find things to appreciate about the bits of me that I’ve previously always loathed?

I hopped out of the bath and splashed into my bedroom and stood infront of the mirror (I hope you’re not picturing me naked, that’s not going to do your blood pressure any good, is it. And the Pope wouldn’t approve).

I looked at my belly, which I’ve spent a lifetime sucking-in and wishing was flat.

I stroked the bubbles away from it and thought how lovely and soft the skin was. I thought about the stretch marks, which have actually never bothered me, and which I have as a reminder of how hard my belly worked to help me grow my two beautiful children.

And then I thought about how, most evenings when I’m curled up with my lovely husband watching telly or just chatting, my hands usually rest on my belly as I find its soft roundness comforting.

I thought how its roundness is an indicator of my appetite for life (ie food!) and how cooking, eating and serving delicious food is one of the ways I express love for myself and those around me.

And I realised that there is nothing ugly about my belly, and nothing to be ashamed of. It is part of me and I am glorious.

And I was happy.

I was even happier when I remembered how useful it is for resting my morning cup of tea on in bed!!!

I’m now working on loving my legs – so far I’m appreciating them for having carried me this far through life without much complaint. This one’s going to be tougher, but I’ll get there.

I recommend you try Flipping It about anything in your life that’s holding you back – it’s a simple technique but very powerful, magical even.

You could almost call it Witchcraft……

Fly my pretties, Fly!!!

8 responses to “I LOVE MY BELLY!!!

  1. I so love this post Cathy, that bath did you more good than perhaps you thought it would. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thanks Mandy – maybe it was the Fairy Dust I added along with the Bubble Bath?!

  3. It is so lovely to read about how someone positively loves the way that they look! All too often in the media the message is ‘hate the way that you look, then buy our product to cure yourself’, when there was never anything wrong in the first place. If the way that you are is because of how you choose to express your love of others and yourself then that is inherently beautiful.

  4. Thank you Stephen, as ever a supportive and wise comment – I love having you around ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Cathy, I came over here after having read Tim Brownson’s post and I have to say I did chuckle at the concept of hate crimes against witches. ๐Ÿ™‚ I mean, I have friends who are Pagans, and I don’t think a single one of them would have been upset at the word witch in the title. And they would all – quite wrongly – physically identify with the picture of the witch! I thought it was very kind of Tim to leap to your defence.

    On the subject of bellies (yes, I have one), my partner loves to snuggle up to me and cuddle my belly. Some might call it kneading. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I don’t lie there taking offence at it, although most of my friends would be set off panicking “is he saying I’m fat?” because I know the spirit in which it is meant. He loves my body as it is. And that’s fine by me.

    All I say is: come the Revolution and Rubens is back in charge, we fatty ladies have a head start on the waifs. So bring it on!

    • Hi Morag, thanks for dropping in, do stay for a cup of tea and a cupcake! My lovely husband says the same to me – it was what he calls the Full Package that he fell in love with and that includes all of the cuddly bits – I’ve started to think of them as Added Value!!

  6. That’s a truly inspirational message Cathy, to someone (ie little ol’ me) who’s always hated her stomach. But, yes, now you come to mention it, I can rest my tea on it, and indeed my arms when they’re folded! And the added padding around my bum?…Well, when I was a size 10, I used to find it uncomforatble to sit down for a long time. But now, I have my very own built in cushion!!

    Kim
    x

Leave a Reply

