Closing the Deal…Or Not…

Well this month’s theme, it being September, is “Back to School”, so I’ve been learning lots of stuff in order to be able to pass it on to you guys.

The biggest thing I’ve learned this week might not be of much use to you but has been very important for me, and it’s that I need to grow some balls, and great big hairy ones at that.

Ones that drag on the ground.

Please excuse the crudity (I am, after all, A Laydee) but there’s not really any other way of putting it that conjures up quite so exactly what I mean.

I have been forced to face the fact of late that I am absolutely CRAP at closing a deal. I have no problem meeting new people, telling them about what I do, arranging follow-up appointments, giving free initial taster sessions etc etc etc – and then I leave it at that.

I know there are 3 things going on here.

Firstly, I’m thinking that if it was me I’d know whether or not I wanted to work with me or not, and I’d tell me if I did (if you see what I mean). So if someone doesn’t tell me that then I assume that they don’t want to work with me and I don’t want to beg.

Secondly, I believe that people will instinctively know when it’s the right time for them to get some personal development, and it’s not for me to tell them that.

And thirdly, no matter how confident I am or appear to be, and no matter how many clients I’ve worked with successfully, there’s still a tiny voice in my head going “oh but it’s only little me, why would anyone want to work with little me?”

Now, I know I’m not the only person out there that feels like this and I’ve had lots of people tell me it’s one of the things they find most difficult.

(Cold-calling’s the worst apparently – I’ve only ever met ONE person who loves cold-calling, everyone else seems to view it as a form of ritualised torture that they inflict on themselves on a regular basis, as if to remind themselves of what miserable worms they really are. I don’t do it at all!).

So I want to learn from everyone out there that’s got big hairy balls (especially if you weren’t born with them)

How do you close a deal?

What techniques work best for you in getting someone to grab you in a huge embrace and beg you to work with them?

If I don’t get this sorted soon our Christmas dinner will consist of Roast Beetle with Dandelion Mash…

Please add your comments and suggestions below – and if you’re DIEING to have some coaching from me but have been too shy to ask, well please email me on cathy@colourinyourthinking.co.uk and let’s talk 🙂

4 responses to “Closing the Deal…Or Not…

  1. I’m cold calling at the moment for St John Ambulance, which helps because at least I feel justified in disliking people who won’t sign up to pay a pound a week they can easily afford to save their own life because they’re selfish.

    I’ve been taught a couple of tricks that seem to help, the first one is you have to believe in what it is that you’re trying to get people to do, and then assume that they want to do it. So you give your presentation, inform them about what it is you’re doing, and build up a rapport, showing your enthusiasm about whatever it is. Then when you’ve explained everything, assume (or act as though you assume) that they’ll want to be part of it. Ask them what kinds of times would be best for them, or how they think what they’ve already experienced will fit in with their other commitments. Most people wait for you to make the suggestion as because you’re offering the service, they want to be lead by you to think about these things.

    Secondly, I’ve been told (and it seems to work) that if you can get someone to say ‘yes’ three times during the conversation, they’ll agree to anything. It doesn’t work 100% of the time, but most people, once they’ve agreed that something is a good idea, that it would work for them or someone like them, and that it’s good value (for example) find it very difficult to then say that they don’t want to do it, as that would mean contradicting themselves. Obviously there are exceptions but it generally works.

    And thirdly, I guess remember that what you’re doing generally isn’t cold calling, but nor is it selling things online either. If people have had taster sessions or come over to talk to you, they’re already interested, and therefore aren’t likely to turn you away for suggesting that they pay for your services. But at the same time, if you don’t make them think about how it could work for them, they won’t do so. I guess your job has to be to try to make them visualise how it would fit into their life, and show them that it would be an improvement. Then assume that they want to make that improvement to their life and start signing them up for something on the basis that they’ve already agreed it’s a good plan.

    And cold calling isn’t much fun, but apparently face-to-face cold calling is the most effective way of raising money for charity, so it just proves that if you don’t ask you don’t know what you’ll miss out on.

    Hope this helps!

    • See people? I told you my offspring were wonderful – this is from my lovely daughter! Thank you darling, you can give me some face to face coaching when you come home next week & in the meantime I will use your tips – especially the one about getting 3 yesses xxx

  2. Be elusive, be exclusive….no… that didn’t work for me either!!
    Just by being there and walking the talk….people will respond..eventually, have faith in your own self…

Leave a Reply

