Achieving the Impossible Day 25: 4 things I have learned this week

1. It’s important to be nice to yourself

Imagine you’re watching someone you care about very deeply. They’re trying to do something that is, for them, really quite tricky. You can see the effort they’re putting into it, the amount of time they’re spending on it and the stress it’s causing them. When you see that happening, how do you react?

Do you point out to them what they’re doing wrong and how stupid they are for not noticing? Do you tell them they’re a fool for trying something that is so obviously way beyond them, and that they would do better to give up and go and do something sensible?

I’d like to think not. I’d like to think that, when you see them getting so het up they can’t think straight, you tap them on the shoulder and give them a big hug. That you congratulate them on their efforts so far and point out all the good stuff they’ve achieved that they’ve lost sight of.

Maybe you make them a nice cup of tea, or a stiff drink, and persuade them to down tools for while. You might point out the benefits of taking some time away from the task to let their head clear and their thoughts settle, and to make room for new ideas.

Generally, you’re going to cut them some slack, praise their efforts and, when they’re ready, encourage them to get back to it with renewed confidence and vigour.

Well this week, I remembered to do that for myself.

Eventually.

2. Good Enough is Good Enough

I got caught up in my own need to “get it right” for a while there, which is all well and good except that, when I’m the final arbiter there’s always the possibility that if I keep trying IΒ  might just work out another way that’s even more right than the way I’ve just thought of. And so on.

All that kind of thinking leads to is a spiral of “eek” and the eventual chewing of wallpaper – which stopped when the phrase “good enough is good enough” came to me. I’m better now πŸ™‚

(I knew this already, by the way, I just forgot to apply it to myself…)

3. Doing something proves that I can do it, even if I think I can’t

Today’s lesson from Creating the Impossible was about the Key to Power and it was based around the idea that we all have things we think we can’t do, or don’t know how to do, so we don’t do them.

But, the reasoning goes, if we were to tell ourselves we could do them, and then did them, we would soon learn that we could do them.

Maybe not very well, and maybe not as we would like, but we would undoubtedly get something from our attempts.

So the lesson was, there will be things that I could do that I’m not doing because I think I’m not capable of them but that, if I did them, they would bring me much closer to achieving my goal. So why don’t I give them a try and see where it gets me?

So I just spent 2 hours doing something I didn’t think I could do. It’s not right but it’s Good Enough and I have someone who can put the finishing touches to it for me. I’m pleased with what I’ve done and I’m going to make myself a nice cup of tea to celebrate it. (No West Wing tonight, sadly, as My Lovely Husband has gone out to play…sigh…)

4. Flea collars are useless on cats but really effective inside a Hoover bag.

Don’t ask me how or why I know this, I just do and I am grateful for the knowledge.

It’s been an…interesting….week and once I’ve recovered from the lost sleep I shall be all the stronger for it. After all, that which does not kill us…

…has made its first mistake πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading

Love and Fairy Dust

Cathy

6 responses to “Achieving the Impossible Day 25: 4 things I have learned this week

  1. I prefer “That which does not kill us has made its *last* mistake” : it’s certainly not going to get a second chance!

  2. I fall foul of your first point all the time. All.The.Time.

    Also – what she said! πŸ™‚

  3. Mr. Troughton’s sig block keeps on keeping on!

    Regarding point one, I had a discussion once about demotivating language and my inner child, i.e. would you say the things that you are saying to yourself to the eight year-old version of yourself? How would you feel if you saw someone saying those things to their eight year-old? If I was strongly against this – which I was and still am – then why is it ok to say those things to the adult version of me? It still isn’t, so my inner child rescues me from saying bad things about myself to myself in the same way that I rescue him!

    I remember my sports teacher at school saying; ‘There are plenty of people out there who will say bad things about you. Don’t join in with them. Say good things about yourself, there’s hardly anyone who will do that.’. So, some things from school _do_ stick πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

