The Importance of Love part 3, plus a Financial Update

A while back I wrote this post about how much of a mess I’d made with my money. Many of you were kind enough to send me messages of support and understanding and it was an enormous comfort to know that you cared.

Over the past 2 weeks I’ve also written a couple of posts about The Importance of Love, and today I’m going to talk about Love and Money together, and how thinking about Money in a Loving way has made a huge difference to me.

(Some of you may need to take a deep breath and start thinking “How Interesting!” at this point, because your weirdo sensors could be about to go off big time…)

My meditation teacher, the lovely Mary Pearson, introduced me to the concept of Ho’oponopono a while back.  If you don’t know it, Ho’oponopono is an ancient Hawaiian practice of reconciliation and forgiveness. Some of its elements have been adapted for use in the modern world and Mary talked about a specific meditation chant

When she first mentioned it I wasn’t ready to hear bout it. But then she mentioned it again at a meditation session a couple of days after my visit to the bank.

This time I sat up and took notice. It sounded both bizarre and really easy to do, and I figured that I needed all the help I could get at that point. If nothing happened (which, if I’m honest, is what I expected) then I wouldn’t have lost anything by trying it so it was worth giving it a go.

And the meditation session we’d just experienced had been a particularly intense one for me, with all sorts of learning coming through, so maybe The Universe was reminding me of Ho’oponopono for a reason?

I resolved to try it, and for the rest of that evening and again the next day I repeated this phrase to myself over and over again, all the while thinking about my bank accounts:

I love you

I’m sorry

Please forgive me

Thank you

When I started, I must admit to feeling sceptical. What earthly difference could this make, I thought?

And then at lunchtime on the second day I had a sudden onrush of emotion. I felt immensely SORRY for my bank accounts. I realised that I had been neglectful and treated them as if they meant nothing to me, as if they just weren’t important.

I realised that we couldn’t go on like that. My bank accounts and my money don’t deserve to be treated with disdain. If something is truly important to us then we show it by nurturing it and giving it the love it needs to grow and develop.  – we don’t ignore it and neglect it and expect it to look after itself.

I made a promise then and there to do better and to care for my finances in a loving way.

And I am doing.

I had to do some forward projections and so forth for the bank manager and that helped me to get a grasp on reality and how I want things to be in the future. I’m now checking my bank account regularly and keeping a proper eye on things. I’m continuing to do the Ho’oponopono on a regular basis and thinking lovingly about my finances. Obviously it’s early days as yet but so much weight has come off my shoulders and I know feel happy and positive about it, rather than fearful and ashamed.

I’ve also started using the Ho’oponopono to turn around other areas of my life and work.  Whatever I use it on, it prompts a shift in my thinking and my attitude.

Of course, it comes down to taking responsibility for my own actions and the effect they have, I know that.

The thing is, it’s very easy to KNOW that’s what you have to do, but it can sometimes be very DIFFICULT to actually do it, particularly when you’re in a situation where you’re very fearful or ashamed or guilty or surrounded by whatever other negative emotions are crowding in on you.

The Ho’oponopono is a subtle way of helping to move yourself to a different point of view. There’s no need for blame or anger or recriminations. There’s no need to beat yourself up about what you’ve done wrong.

All there is, is compassion – for yourself and whatever/whoever is causing you difficulty.

So if there’s something in your life that’s causing you stress, strife, difficulty, discomfort – whatever it is, try the Ho’oponopono and see what effect it has. And please let me know how you get on…

I love you

I’m sorry

Please forgive me

Thank you

Leave a Reply

