Challenges…

So, yesterday I said I was in need of a challenge and asked for suggestions. I’ve had one so far, from my lovely daughter, and I have accepted her challenge to devise a set-list, find an accompanist and sing at least 3 songs at an open mic event.

I do love to sing but have been very shy of singing in public – partly from being told when I was younger that I had a rotten voice, and partly as a result of getting such a severe attack of nerves when I agreed to perform a solo in a school music competition that I went on stage, opened my voice, and NOTHING came out.

Imagine that – me, making no noise whatsoever!

So – if anyone knows of any open mic venues in the Cheltenham area or wants to recommend an accompanist or volunteer themself to act as one, please email me at cathy@colourinyourthinking.co.uk or tweet me @colourfulcoach

I know some of you are out there plotting on what challenges you’re going to offer me – don’t leave it too long cos I can only hold my breath for so long!!

I’ve also realised that there’s a challenge I had already set mself, and had promptly “forgotten” about, and that’s to do with promoting and selling my book.

So this morning I got to work on that, and you can follow that story on my dedicated blog at Goodreads.com, where you’ll also find a competition to win a free review copy.

The adrenaline is flowing and today has been an enormoudsly productive way for all sorts of things, so onwards and upwards is what I say!!

UPDATE:

as I was writing that, the lovely RedHairedHiker was commenting on yesterday’s post and challenging me to do some kind of really scary sporting activity.

So I’ve just signed up to do a Tandem Skydive in aid of Mind, the mental health charity.

I did it quickly so as not to give myself time to chicken out, so it’s all booked and paid for and I’m waiting for the date. Once I have that I’ll let you know how you can sponsor me – you will sponsor me, won’t you? Please? Cos now that I’ve stopped to think about it, I’m REALLY scared…

14 responses to “Challenges…

  1. I’ll definitely sponsor you – if I can and you’d like I’ll physically get there as well (but there’s no way ON THIS EARTH I am throwing myself out of a perfectly good plane. Flying is bad enough on its own.) You are incredibly brave. 🙂

  2. Yes, I did two 14,000 foot tandem descents out in Cairns, Australia, and they are the most amazing fun! I’ll certainly sponsor you! 🙂

  3. There’s only one response to the skydiving challenge – BLIMEY! You are so brave. Has Eli suggested Caspar for the singing accompaniment?

  4. An idea for a challenge – reach out to someone that you feel you have somehow wronged in the past / heal a rift / mend a broken relationship…

    • I can think of one individual in particular and I need to have a proper think about whether some sleeping dogs are better left to lie before I decide whether to tackle it or not. But it’s an excellent thought and I shall tuck it away in my ideas incubator….

  5. And another idea! Stretch your coaching by taking it to a place you have never considered eg volunteer to coach in a prison

  6. I’ll definitely sponsor you! Re the Goodreads blog, you know you can import posts from here into there, don’t you? Good for cross-promotion.

  7. Caspar is a professional musician and he has plenty of experience of open mic nights. He’s also ever so sweet and I am certain he would help you out on this one. I have told Eli and she said she would put you in touch, but she is so busy she may have forgotten. I will remind her.

Leave a Reply

